Sign in to follow this  

Rotate camera around the world

This topic is 4866 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I have a little problem to do with rotating the world; I have 2 objects in the middle of my world (the earth rotating around the moon). I have been told that instead of rotating the camera around the world it is easier to keep the camera at a fixed position and rotate the world. So when I move the mouse around in my program, the world gets rotated to where I am moving to. In my display method I have a glRotate(newMouseX, newMouseY, newMouseZ) , but I do not know how to calculate the new positions. I know I have to use Trigonometry. And the values that get updated are newMouseX and newMouseZ. Any help with calculating / implementing this would be much appreciated(prefer Java) Regards Rick.

I'm not an expert, but I think you need to use matrixes with Push and Pop. I'll check in my OpenGL book now if you like.

Yup, if you have OpenGL Game Programming by Kevin Hawkins and Dave Astle, its on page 77.

You have to use three matrixes to rotate your world. You must do them in the order of z axis, y axis, and then x axis or it will look weird.

X Rotation Matrix:
| 1 0 0 0 |
| 0 cos # -sin # 0 |
| 0 sin # cos # 0 |
| 0 0 0 1 |

Y Rotation Matrix:
| cos # 0 sin # 0 |
| 0 1 0 0 |
| -sin # 0 cos # 0 |
| 0 0 0 1 |

Z Rotation Matrix:
| cos # -sin # 0 0 |
| sin # cos # 0 0 |
| 0 0 1 0 |
| 0 0 0 1 |

or you could just use this formula for the end results:
a = rotation on the z axis
b = rotation on the y axis
c = rotation on the x axis
x = current x
y = current y
z = current z

x' = x * [(cos a) * (cos b)] + y * [(cos a) * (sin b) * (sin c) - (sin a) * (cos c)] + z * [(cos a) * (sin b) * (sin c) - (sin a) * (sin c)]

y' = x * [(cos a) * (cos b)] +
y * [(cos a) * (sin b) * (sin c) - (cos a) * (cos c)] +