Sign in to follow this  

how big is a 100 hours project?

This topic is 4864 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

We're supposed to do this big project in school this year. At least 100 hours of work. Since programming is one of the things you can do, I want to do just that. But I'd like to know how big a project would have to be to fill up 100 hours. Or perhaps more importantly, how big a project can I sqeeze into 100 - 200 hours? I guess you'll need to know how good/bad I am... I've been a hobby programmer for about a year and half now, and I've just successfully completed a Direct3D9 wrapper for 2D-graphics. This is about the best I can do without having to follow tutorials by the letter.

Well, imagine you work full time (on average 8 hours per day - yes ingnoring overtime... ;), 100 hours is only 12.5 working days, not even a fornight.

Simple Pong and Breakout clones can take that long, depending on your skill, maybe something like a simple Mario clone if your more talented than that.

It all depends on how good you are and what you think you can do, and who you will be working with. Do you have artists to help, or would that eat into your time?

Hope that helps
Spree

Build a game or whatever from the ground up. Start with a good open base design and keep adding features, whis way you don't have to worry that much about the deadline.

Lets say you make a 3d engine and a game with it.

You start with a simple map format load that and draw it on the screen letting the player fly through the map with flymode. Lets say that would take 25 hours (maybe more or less).
Then you add lighting, another 10 hours to do it nice.
Then collision detection so you can let the player walk around.
Then a little monster with very basic AI (like hey a wall, lets turn into the opposite direction with a slight offset).
Then sound.