Sign in to follow this  

Need help ... simple C++ water animation

This topic is 4863 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am working on a "prrof of concept" prototype for a project I am looking into starting. If I can get things going I will hire some real game programmers and use the proper technology (maybe I'll look at gamedev.net for some resources), but for now I need something quick and easy that I can demo. I have been programming C++ for 10+ years, but have never done anything with animation like this. I am looking for someone to supply me with a an example of a C++/MFC application that draws water on the bottom half (a static sky image takes up the upper half) of a CFrame window. Based on some variables I want to be able to move forward, backward, and turn at various speeds. Almost as if you are sitting on the bow a boat and the water is moving under you. I want to avoid the overhead of DirectDraw, OpenGL, etc. for this prototype and do the work with the MFC CDC objects and bitmaps (i.e. BitBlt, StrectchBlt, etc.). If soemone can supply me with something that will work in my prototype I have no problem adding your name and contact information to the prototype which hopefully many people will see. thanks, Kevin

You need to use OGL or D3D, it will be more difficult to do this using device-contexts and will run extremely slow.

Wave simulation is tricky, do you just want the view to bob or do you want to model waves propegating across the water? Do you want a wake from the boat?

The DirectX SDK comes with an MFC example (called MFC Fog I think), and OGL is pretty easy to setup in a window, maybe you'd write your own COGLWindow class derived from a CFrame.