Sign in to follow this  

template classes and inheritance

This topic is 4859 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey folks, I'm still a real newbie when it comes to mixing templates and class inheritance, so I'm trying to get advice on the best way to proceed with my class heirarchy design (that is likely to cause the least amount of problems down the track when it comes to using the classes... because I won't be the one using them...). Basically, I want to derive from a base template class (the base class is a storage class and I'm adding some functionality for a particular application). I expect that this is a fairly trivial problem, so I assume I could start with something like
template <typename T>
class BaseStorageClass
{...};

template <typename T>
class DerivedStorageClass : public BaseStorageClass<T>
{...};

But is this the best way to do this? Now, what if I want to store objects from another template class in my DerivedStorageClass... let's say objects like
template <typename V, V value>
class MyObjectClass
{...};

Would the following be a correct instantiation?
typedef MyObjectClass<int,5> Int5ObjectType
typedef DerivedStorageClass<Int5ObjectType> Container;

Int5ObjectType An_Object;
Container  A_Container;

A_Container.insert(An_Object);

(assuming the existance of the method 'insert' of course) Would there be any particular issues I need to be aware of if I wanted to create all of my objects at run-time (i.e, dynamically)? My second question relates particularly to my derived class. The derived class needs to know something about the type of attributes of objects being stored... in this case, the tempalte parameter V. What is the best way to access this information? Use something like...
class MyObjectClass
{
public:
typedef V value_type;
};

template <typename T>
{
public: