Sign in to follow this  

Brew and J2ME

This topic is 4845 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi all can any body tell me good source of tutorials to start working in BREW, also i m interested in comparing BREW and J2ME. also i want to know abt marketing strategy of mobile games, can anyone help me in this regard, any good source of info for this? bye

Here's a link to help you out, its the official Qualcomm site for BREW...
http://brew.qualcomm.com/brew/en/

As to marketing strategies, Ive worked in the industry, albeit temporarily, so I can offer a little insight...

I worked for a small mobile gaming shop for a while, and the way we got it off the ground initially was to do ports by night. I was a full-time student, and was also teaching... but for some reason decided writing mobile games in the little spare time I had would be fun. Our company was essentially subcontracting for larger developers (such as JamDAT, THQ, etc.), and our main work was to port the games across several handsets.

This meant that I got paid a flat rate per port, and essentially I had to finish a port in about 5 hours --> or just do what I could in 5 hrs and turn it in, however buggy it was at the time; it simply wasnt financially worthwile to spend any more time than that on a port (due to the flat rate).

Maybe that'll help you out --> basically, unless you have a sufficiently large investment, or are exceptionally talented to write entire mobile games in your spare time (which I wasn't, Im more a team player than a solo genius); you'll have to start by subcontracting work from bigger corporations - the service providers cant bank on indie shops.