Sign in to follow this  

I hate my base code...

This topic is 4859 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have been using a windows/ogl base code I wrote for about 6 months but Im really not happy with it. Im just using the raw windows api, and deriving a class for the main loop functions. What I want to know is this: would it be feasable to use mfc for the most part of the engine? Or is there an alternative to mfc? What do you guys normally use? Also, how do you use the windows ini??

With OpenGL, i just use SDL for windowing and input (and network and image loading and...). It's cross-platform, but even better it's just simple and nice looking. Can't recommend it enough. With SDL you don't have to touch ANY of the OS-specific calls.

Unless you are doing lots of window stuff, there isn't much reason not to just use the basic Win32 API. In general, unless you already know MFC, you should probably use something else, since MFC is on the way out.

Not to mention, MFC is hellish to learn and won't offer many (if any) advantages at all over something like wxWindows or SDL.

If you plan to stay in Windows, you could get the new Visual C++ Express Beta and use it for WinForms, which SHOULD interface easily enough with OpenGL.

Other options include WTL, GLUT and Allegro. WTL is an awful lot like MFC though and is becoming obsolete too (I think), GLUT is nicely cross-platform but can be rather stifling to your coding style and Allegro is cross-platform and has lots of other features, like sound, image loading and input and it has a (separate) OpenGL add-in that lets you use GL code normally. It's rather like SDL, but not really object oriented.

-Auron

Quote:
Original post by Auron
It's rather like SDL, but not really object oriented.

-Auron

SDL is written in c and not OO at all unlless you right a wrapper for it like I did.