Sign in to follow this  

object movement

This topic is 4853 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

first off, i'm a bit new to directx. i'm trying to figure out how to make objects move, say, in the direction of a vector. my ultimate goal is to have two objects travel toward each other and collide. any point in the right direction will be appreciated. cheers

A common solution would be to store a matrix (D3DXMATRIX) for each object. To move the object (translate), you would call D3DXMatrixTranslation(&matObject, 1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f) to move it 1.0f along the direction of the X-Axis.
If you want to rotate your object, you would call D3DXMatrixRotation*() and multiply this matrix with your translation matrix.

Finally, you need to call device->SetTransform(D3DTS_WORLD, &matObject) to "move" your object (actually, just the matrix is being moved).

Collision could be done via a bounding box check.

ok ... i'm using D3DXMatrixTranslation to set the initial position of my objects. i'm not sure how i would use it to make the objects move. i tried a second call but that didn't work.

D3DXMATRIX matObject;
D3DXMatrixTranslation(1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);
pDevice->SetTransform(D3DTS_WORLD, &matObject);

DrawSpehere1();

D3DXMatrixTranslation(-1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);
pDevice->SetTransform(D3DTS_WORLD, &matObject);

DrawSpehere2();

This would move your first sphere 1.0f to the right and your second spehere 1.0f to the left

Doing the collision check is extremely simple eith two spheres - you just check whether the distance of v[sphere1] and v[sphere2] is lower than radius[sphere1] + radius[sphere2]