Sign in to follow this  
role

[java] Platform game (updated)

I thought both games were excellent! The platformer reminded a little of Mega Man, which is one of my all time favorite platform games.

I just started learning java (although, I've written a blackjack game, and a pong clone using C). About how long did it take you to write the platformer? I'm curious because after I finish my current project (asteroids), I plan on make a game similar to yours.

- heap

Oh, and keep up the great work!!

i like. it's one of those "so good i want to grade like a commerical endeavor" projects. i would simplify the controls, even after custom setup i found them confusing, but other than that it's awesome. ratings++

well..
Game Exception on RoboticsWar v0.4
----------------------------------
java.lang.InternalError: Could not get display mode

at sun.awt.Win32GraphicsDevice.getCurrentDisplayMode(Native Method)

at sun.awt.Win32GraphicsDevice.getDisplayMode(Unknown Source)

at com.golden.gamedev.engine.input.AWTInput.<init>(Unknown Source)

at com.golden.gamedev.Game.initEngine(Unknown Source)

at com.golden.roboticswar.RoboticsWarGame.initEngine(RoboticsWarGame.java:95)

at com.golden.roboticswar.RoboticsWarGame$3.initEngine(RoboticsWarGame.java:146)

at com.golden.gamedev.Game.initialize(Unknown Source)

at com.golden.gamedev.GameEngine.startGameLoop(Unknown Source)

at com.golden.roboticswar.RoboticsWarGame.startGameLoop(RoboticsWarGame.java:170)

at com.golden.gamedev.b.run(Unknown Source)

Game Environment
----------------
Date/Time : vr, 17-09-2004 at 18:50
Java Version : 1.4.2_04-b05 Sun Microsystems Inc.
GTGE Version : 0.2.0
Environment : Windowed with BufferStrategy
Operating System : Windows 98 4.10

Quote:
Original post by role
how about trying my game engine if you like to make similar game like mine ;)