Sign in to follow this  
Link

How do you compile your c++ games?

Are you talking about the IDE or the actual compiler? I like the new visual studio IDE. As for the compiler, i'm no expert in the area. But it would seem strange to me if the compiler wasn't better with every passing version (or at least pretty much the same).

VC7 is pretty well standards complient - unlike VC6, which could not even compile some standard complient code. If you are really worried about standards, you should check out the GCC compiler.

Quote:
Original post by Onemind
VC7 is pretty well standards complient - unlike VC6, which could not even compile some standard complient code. If you are really worried about standards, you should check out the GCC compiler.

no actually the gcc isnt as standards complient as visual studio 2003. 2003 is 98% and I think gcc is a little worse.

I just use gcc.

eg, to compile the game I'm working on now:

g++ -Wall asteroids.c -o asteroids `sdl-config --libs --cflags`

Command line compilers take a little bit of getting used to but once you do they are great. Borlands free compiler is awesome to, imo.

- Stephen

Quote:
Original post by Ainokea
no actually the gcc isnt as standards complient as visual studio 2003. 2003 is 98% and I think gcc is a little worse.

Which version of gcc?

Quote:
Original post by Fruny
Quote:
Original post by Ainokea

Which version of gcc?

The windows port. I dont know of the linux/unix versions however.

EDIT: unless I got my info wrong.

Intel makes a good compiler. It's not as cheap as the one you download from Microsoft though.

I had to laugh when I read this statement in an ACM article on game development the other day:

Quote:
Even so, Visual C++ is the best compiler we have on PCs—with no competitive alternatives—so we're just sort of along for the ride.

And this article was written before MS offered the free compiler, I believe.

Quote: