• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Chaugnar

Basics of learning Math

This topic is 5491 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, Lets take it for granted I know only the basics of math subtraction/multiplication and division and I didn't have the option of going to school to learn more math, where would I start? Do you guys know of any good books or resources to take me from being a complete newb to being somewhat proficient in 3D game development from a math standpoint. Also, could someone explain to me a practical example where sin/cos/tan are used. I get the picture they are important but I cannot for the life of me understand from what they are derived and what they are used in (did someone just decide to create a cos function and pulled the computations needed from his ass or)? i.e. what do they "mean"? Cross-product and dot-product are also a bit muddled in my brain. I've heard that linear algebra and trig was the single most important math elements you need to know in order to be able to do good as a game programmer, would you guys reckon that is true? Any help would be appreciated, Thanks in advance

Advertisement
There's a lot of resources everywhere, starting with the Articles on this website but I think that even if the vector dot and cross products(example) are rather easy to understand they need a good time of practice to really master them. So read and use... a lot. (;

As a programmer your mathematics knowledge is mostly a tool. It sure never feels good to apply without being able to prove why but if you are simply working on the game editing tool interface you don't really care about that. On the other hand if you are writing a physic engine then yes, you'd better have a strong understanding of what's happening. The AI people do need understanding too but not on the same matters.