• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Whelzorn

OpenGL 3d Model type?

This topic is 5086 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, let me first start off by saying that I am very new to OpenGL, and for that matter, all of 3d programming. I am pretty fluent in c++, and am looking to step up a level. I have been reading tutorials and such, and am now looking at various ways to load different types of 3d models. I have found a VERY basic format of model, it came from one of the NeHe tutorials, and looks something like this: NUMPOLLIES 36 // Floor 1 -3.0 0.0 -3.0 0.0 6.0 -3.0 0.0 3.0 0.0 0.0 3.0 0.0 3.0 6.0 0.0 -3.0 0.0 -3.0 0.0 6.0 3.0 0.0 -3.0 6.0 6.0 3.0 0.0 3.0 6.0 0.0 // Ceiling 1 -3.0 1.0 -3.0 0.0 6.0 -3.0 1.0 3.0 0.0 0.0 3.0 1.0 3.0 6.0 0.0 -3.0 1.0 -3.0 0.0 6.0 3.0 1.0 -3.0 6.0 6.0 3.0 1.0 3.0 6.0 0.0 ... etc... Ok, I know thats not really a type of 3d model, I was only wondering if there are any 3d modelling programs that will export to this, or a plugin for blender that has been already written (I can't do python...) that will export this. Another option is a simple class that I could learn to import some other fairly simple 3d model format, if anyone here knows of one. Thanks for helping a newbie, -Justin

Advertisement
I don't know if there is anything to parse that and load it or export it from a 3d modeler. I do know that there are many 3d file formats with great support in programs already. Why don't you look into ones such as maybe 3DS, md2, md3 (first to come to mind)? You should be able to find all the information to load that kinda file, and many 3d packages can export to one of those formats.

EDIT: Oh yes, and look at Wotsit's for file format specifications.

Slaru