Sign in to follow this  

Lin Al question: finding a matrix/quat

This topic is 4841 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First time poster in this area. I'd ask a math professor if I knew one.... Given 3 axes i, j, k and new axes i',j', k' can you find a matrix/quaternoion/something that rotates all directoinal vectors in i, j, k to be defined in i', j' k'? Right now a guy at work is asking for all this information from me which I htink is unnecessary, but I am an undergrad questioning the authority of someone with a PhD......

In this forum I see you get hw problems....

If you fear this is a math/hw problem (which it isnt, its a plane flying around the globe doing barrel roles problem), can you tell me yes it can be done and send me in a general direction of where to look?

Read the other threads about rotations here.

You have to understand that a triplet i,j,k is equivalent to :

- a frame
- a linear transformation from the canonical frame to i,j,k (*)
- a matrix with columns i,j,k (Say M)

(*) If i,j,k form an (edit cf Paradigm Shifter, thx) : - right handed - orthonormal base, then the transfo is a rotation, and M a rotation matrix which can be transformed into a normalized quaterinon.

Thus what you want is obvious :
(EDIT : wrote too quickly earlier)
R = inverse(M') * M

Well you just have to learn the basics of linear algebra. there is enough on the www. ANY 3D coder knows all this stuff by heart, making it as obvious as adding integers. That's ultimately necessary to be totally fluent with such concepts. Writing 3D video games needs a hell more than what you probably think.

EDIT :

OK I'll be more kind, to show you how it works. If the said vector has local (IJK) coords Vi, Vj, Vk, then :

(Vi',Vj',Vk') = R*(Vi,Vj,Vk)

Raplece R and read left to right :

The first step is from local coords (i,j,k) to world (x,y,z)