Sign in to follow this  

c++ loop problem I'm trying to solve.

This topic is 4843 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey everyone, this is my first time psoting. I need to write a program for school and I'm having some trouble figuring out how to do it. The problem is: "There is an island which is shared by foxes and geese. Each year the populations of these animals varies according to these equations: New fox population = int((1 - d + bG)F) New goose population = int((1 + r - rG/k - aF)G) The numbers F and G in the equations are the previous year's fox and goose populations. The other numbers in the equations are these constants: d = death rate of foxes (0.1) b = conversion rate (0.00001) r = growth rate of geese (0.4) a = ability rate (0.0005) k = carrying capacity of island (30000.0) These fancy phrases probably don't mean much to you, but the equations should be enough to program the simulation. If you want to find out more about this mathematical model, see the book Population Biology by P.W. Hendrick. This program declares a group of constants and then uses two formulas to compute the fox and goose populations over a period of 100 years. The constants and prototype for the functions must be exactly these (so that your TA can check your work): const double DEATH_RATE = 0.1; const double CONVERSION_RATE = 0.00001; const double GROWTH_RATE = 0.4; const double FOX_ABILITY = 0.0005; const double CAPACITY = 30000.0; When the program first starts, it should ask the user for the initial fox and goose populations. The program then calculates predicted fox and goose populations for the next 100 years. As it is calculating the populations, it prints a table that lists the fox and goose populations every ten years. (The other nine years are calculated, but not printed.) The first year of the table is year number zero. For example, i