Sign in to follow this  

[.net] Suggestions for good advanced C# books?

This topic is 4841 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Alright, I'm a newbie to C#, I admit it. A project at work though has to be created in C#, so I went to the local bookstores looking for a few reference books. Honestly though, it seems like all the books Barnes & Nobles and Borders carried were for people who had no programming experience. I don't want to wait till 3/4's of the book to discuss subjects such as what inheritence is, with half the book being on basic programming examples and the other half on XML. I'm trying to look for a book on the finer points of the language. IE: Like a book for C++ going over calling conventions or a windows book on WinMainCRTStartup. Just the tiny stuff that most authors of books seem to overlook thinking that the majority of programmers will never touch the stuff.

The best C# book ever: Programming C#, by Jesse Liberty (O'Reilly). It is great for both the seasonned programmer and the absolute n00b.

It starts out very basic in Part 1 (the first 300 pages). It covers the main features of the language including classes, inheritence,overloading, structs, interfaces, arrays/indexers/collections, strings, exception handling and delegates/events (taken straight for the table of contents.

Part 2 goes more in depth and begins teaching the .NET framework. Things covered include forms, ADO.NET, and Web forms/services.

The last part of the book deals with the CLR inluding assemblies and versioning, attributes/reflection, marshaling/remoting, threading, streams, and more .NET/COM stuff.