Sign in to follow this  

beginner, need direction...

This topic is 4838 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm 14 yeards old. After reading a lot of the articles on this site I've decided that I am an aspiring game programmer. I've already learned the basic C++ syntax, and I've programmed simple games like tic-tac-toe and hangman for many many months, but I don't know where to go from here. Should I learn win32, or opengl, or directX, etc? What knowledge would be essential for me to know if I want to break into the games industry? I would greatly appreciate a little direction and advice, thanks!

Have you learned OOP yet? if not, I recommend learning that first, then SDL(SDL), then, finally, opengl(I don't recommend DirectX, because programs writen in DirectX only work on Windows)

for what it's worth, here's by progression in game programming (about 4 years):

C++ -> VGA graphics[Assembly] -> Allegro -> Win32 -> OpenGL -> DirectX

i also learned how to do a few misc. things like Gameboy programming and winsock. both fun things.
if i were you i'd try to think of what kind of things you'd like to do and start looking into ways you can accomplish them. then Google for libraries or ask here.

If your thinking of doing anything graphicwise, have a go a learning some higher level maths. I never realised how great a help maths was until i really starting learning more diverse mathmatics

If you know how to program basic C++, I suggest moving on to graphics. 2-D DirectX would probably be best.

"Tricks of the Windows Game Programming Gurus," by Andre Lamothe, will teach you all you need to know. I found it to be easy to understand, and by the time you're done, you should be ready to program 2D graphics. You can find cheap copies on Ebay, too.

-Gauvir_Mucca

Quote:
Original post by onehundred