Contradicting definitions of XOR

Started by
12 comments, last by Winograd 19 years, 7 months ago
Ahh.. My first thread =) The xor function is often explained as 'exactly one of' in school, however as a programmer I prefer to look at it as a conditional inversion. For less than three inputs this is just two views of the world but for three of more these two definitions yields different results. So exactly one of them ;) must be the real definition. A little searching reveals the following on Wikipedia.
Quote:The operation yields the result TRUE when one, and only one, of its operands is TRUE
Quote:For more than two inputs, xor can be applied to the first two inputs, and then the result can be xor'ed with each subsequent input
So now I'm more confused than when I started..
Advertisement
Quote:The operation yields the result TRUE when one, and only one, of its operands is TRUE

AFAIK XOR works on two inputs only (at a time). so that definition above is for two inputs on the XOR. For more than two inputs, xor can be applied to the first two inputs, and then the result can be xor'ed with each subsequent input.

Which bit are you confused with?
Quote:Original post by BosskIn Soviet Russia, you STFU WITH THOSE LAME JOKES!
I've never seen xor used with more than two arguments, so it may not be "officially" defined.
Visit our homepage: www.rarebyte.de.stGA
Let's see here:

a    b    c    (a^b)     result (a^b)^c0    0    0      0            01    0    0      1            10    1    0      1            11    1    0      0            00    0    1      0            11    0    1      1            00    1    1      1            01    1    1      0            1

...Then you can continue with a fourth operand, using the above result (3 operands) to get a new result :)