Sign in to follow this  

Good Projects For College

This topic is 4838 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am in my final year of college and i was wonder do any of ye have any good ideas for a final year project. I have being thinking for sometime now but i cant think of a good idea. Any feed back would be greatful. Thanks in advance Ructions

What exactly are you trying to accomplish? Something in a specific area or something that broadly touches on a lot of different areas. If you want something complete, try writing a simple board game like Mankala in 3D, with an AI. That gives you design, 3D graphics, AI, user interface. You could add networking to it, as well, if you want to go even further.

How about coming up with a random invention generator? You can give it a vocabulary of suitable nouns and verbs and it can produce a description of some device. It could be pretty wacky and might come up with some ideas for you as a side effect.

I can suggest quite a few things:

1) I would suggest either a raytracer, which is quite simple, uses many concepts you already know, and can be made easily in java or C++ (You can actually write ~100% portable code for a raytracer in C++). The added bonus of a raytracer is that you can actually add some nice effects... And it produces a visible result, so it has somewhat of a "wow factor" of about 8/10. There are plenty of people who wrote those, and so it will be quite easy.