Sign in to follow this  

Need suggestions for getting started

This topic is 4829 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi, i really need help, im a totally new programmer an di dont know any computer language. could somebody tell what is the MOST basic thing i could do first to get started [title changed - Tiff] [Edited by - Tiffany_Smith on September 15, 2004 11:22:02 AM]

In all honestly, i wouldn't start trying to make games until you're confident with the language. Granted, if you use a higher level language like VB6 (or .NET) like I do, you can start making cool stuff a whole lot sooner.

[/ad]

Mushu - trying to help those he doesn't know, with things he doesn't know.
Why won't he just go away? An question the universe may never have an answer to...

Guest Anonymous Poster
hey, ok, what is the first language i should learn and how do i learn stuff like that,
thanks
the TOTAL beginner.

Python!

(Okay, seriously, any language works. Python is simply my recommendation. There, we got that out of the way.)

If you're going to go with Python, you'll want to read How to think like a Computer Scientist: Learning with Python and spend quality time with the Beginner's Guide to Python. If you're a Windows user, I recommend the ActivePython distribution.

Once you're a little bit comfortable, pick up PyGame, read A Newbie Guide to Pygame and have fun!

I say go for Java. You'll learn important OOP concepts (which can later be applied to C++), and you'll be able to write code that _should_ work on any platform with a JVM (Java Virtual Machine) installed. It'll take a while before the "slowness" of Java will become a real problem for ya (same as me).

Check out this site for some examples of applet games.

Check out this one for some games that will run independently.

- heap

Just a few comments on Java:
- OOP is overrated;