Sign in to follow this  

Weird MMO network structure "dream"

This topic is 4827 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm usually assauted by dreams (you could call it idea trips, but they actually happen when I'm asleep) of programming structures -- and I don' have much credibility 'cause I'm no programmer. So, I'd like to leave this open for discussion about technical issues, viability and stuff. The point here is a MMO's game struc kinda inspired in eMule / Torrent. The game's a kind of P2P, where the clients proccess stuff and passes the results to the server -- quite basic, and totally unreliable in the cheating matter. The diferential is, the client doesn' runs his own character -- it runs two other random people's characters. Hard to imagine? Lemme explain: When you login, you pass thru the Master Server, who does all the autenthication stuff. When the player is validated, the server aggigns him to two random already-connected clients (known as hosts). When the player does an action, (like, walk) it sends a signal to both hosts, who does the calculations and stuff (like, check if he can be in the next square, and confirm if he can). Both send the processed stuff (confirmation) to the Master Server, who compares results; if it's equal (in this case, both machines says he can and gives the same pathway), the action is valid and passed ahead to everyone who could use it, including the original client. Basically, each machine hosts two clients, and each client is processed by two machines. Cheating is complicated, 'cause the Master Server can be intolerant with different results (ie: kick), and defeats the purpose of cheating. (you'll be cheating other people's characters, not yours! Unless if you're a griefer.) And ultimately, gets rid of server load. I hope anyone else got the idea. Thoughts?

Guest Anonymous Poster