Problems redering...possibly with glpush/popstack

Started by
6 comments, last by tums 19 years, 7 months ago
Hello, I'm very new at this so please excuse my stupidity. I'm trying to draw an arm of a robot. But openGL is only drawing the first object I draw correctly. The rest of them are black, not connected to the first object, but connected to each other. When I remove the glpush/popmatrix functions from the code, they start attaching to each other, are the right color, but each object drawn after the other gets smaller and smaller. I don't know why....I've been fooling around with this for too long and it still isn't working. Oh, I am using glut in visual c++...in case that information matters. Any suggestions on how I could get this to work will be very, very, appreaciated! The following are some snippets from my code if it helps:

From the display function.

glPushMatrix();
        glLoadIdentity();
	gluPerspective(65.0, 1/1, 1.0, 20.0);
	glTranslatef(0.0, 0.0, -5.0);

glRotatef( SceneRotateX, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0);
	glRotatef( SceneRotateY, 0.0, 1.0, 0.0);
        // This is where I draw the arm.
	arm.am_DrawArm(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f);

glPopMatrix();	

The am_DrawArm function
void CArmModel::am_DrawArm(float xpos, float ypos, float zpos)
{
glPushMatrix();

glTranslatef(-myRobot[UPPER_ARM].length, 0.0, 0.0);
    glRotatef(myRobot[UPPER_ARM].rotation, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0);

am_Shoulder(myRobot[SHOULDER].length/2.0, 0.0, 0.0);
	am_UpperArm(myRobot[UPPER_ARM].length/2.0, 0.0, 0.0);
	am_Elbow(myRobot[UPPER_ARM].length/2.0, 0.0, 0.0);
	am_LowerArm(myRobot[LOWER_ARM].length/2.0, 0.0, 0.0);
glPopMatrix();
}

the arm functions

I wouldn't thing that commenting out the glPushMatrix and glPopMatrix should work, but it sort of does. Of course when I draw the fingers, commenting them out doestn't work.

void CArmModel::am_Shoulder(float xpos, float ypos, float zpos)
{
glTranslatef(xpos, ypos, zpos);
//glPushMatrix();
        glColor3f(0.99,0.77,0.72);