Sign in to follow this  

Bug squashing: tracking down a memory leak.

This topic is 4841 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone, I just wanted to write down a little adventure I had tonight with the hopes that it may help others who run into similar situations. As the title might imply, the adventure was tracking down and squashing a small memory leak. First, a short background. I am currently a hobbyist programmer. I've taken a few courses, but nothing beyond the equivalent of Freshman CS. I do blackbox QA work for a living though. My current project is a 2d, turn-based, multiplayer strategy game along the lines of Civilization/Master of Magic/Imperialism. It's my first graphical project [or rather it's my first project that didn't hit a showstopper roadblock before getting that far...]. It's fairly far along, clocking in at a heafty 20,000 lines of code, and more importantly is to the point where gameplay can be implimented rather than infrastructure. I noticed the bug while checking on some input changes I made yesterday. While simply sitting in the lobby, connected to the server the windows task manager indicated a 4k increase in resident memory every 20 seconds or so. A simple memory leak. The input changes worked like they were supposed to, so I set upon recreating the memory leak bug. I restarted the server, restarted the game, and connected up. A few moments later, the memory bumped up, and continued as the game sat there. Then it was time to whittle away possible causes. There shouldn't have been any network traffic occuring, but there shouldn't have been any graphical changes occuring either. I decided to try and exclude network traffic as a cause, as it was the simpilest to exclude. Restart game, this time not connecting to the server. Memory leak persists. Hmm, not there. That left the rendering loop, the