Sign in to follow this  

Help me I'm a newbie! -- Camera maths

This topic is 4839 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

OK I'm just starting with this whole 3D stuff and I was wondering about how I would do this. I want my camera to rotate about its target point (i.e. (0,0,0) after applying the view matrix) based on input. Input is easy enough; I'm using DirectInput to get it. Since my camera is actually a targeted camera, I can easily determine the actual location of (0,0,0). The position of the camera is just the camera's location minus the target's location. I therefore want my camera to rotate on a sphere about this point. If I press left, I want the camera to start rotating around the world's Y axis. That's easy; just rotate it about Y after putting it in the right place. But I don't know how to cope with up and down. If the camera is on the X,Y plane, then up/down will rotate about the Z axis, but if the camera is on the Y,Z plane, it should be rotating about the X axis. I don't have a clue what the transformations would be if it were arbitrarily between the two. Simply put, left/right rotate the camera along lines of latitude, while the up-down will rotate it along whichever longitude on which it currently rests. Any super-pro help would be appreciated gratefully! :)

it's usually done by applying 2 rotations in right oder.

in openGL, with modelview matrix:
glRotate(yangle, 0,1,0);
glRotate(xangle, 1,0,0);
glTranslate(0,0,distance_from_center);
will make camera rotate around 0,0,0 keeping distance_from_center, and always look at 0,0,0;

OK, but what's the right order? What if left and up were held at the same time? Would I have to apply Y rotation, then rotate the whole kaboodle so that it's level with the XY, then rotate around Z?

Actually, that might work!

Muchos messingaboutos, though. :s

Is there a better way?