• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Dougie

OpenGL SDL/OpenGL/PNGs and Linux (and Mac)

This topic is 5055 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, I'm a windows programmer, but I'm trying to make my games quick and easy to compile on other OS's (Linux and Mac mainly). I use SDL and OpenGL and avoid all windows only functions. I'm also trying to use the pnglib and the other files that go with it to read png files. Now, I've have friends on other Linux and Mac complain about several thing, and I need some info: Firstly, is gl.h, glu.h, and OpenGL32.lib universal or windows only? Secondly, what are makefiles and how do I make them? And thirdly, do makefiles work for both Mac and Linux? Thanks for your time

Advertisement
Oh, and I forgot; is there something similar to the __asm keyboard for other compilers (I use VC++ 6.0)?

I would also like to avoid glut as I've heard its slow

As far as I know...

The asm keyword (or variation of said keyword) is standard C, I think.

makefile = ascii text file that is parsed by nmake, gmake, make (and so on) that (to put it simlpy) defines dependancies of source files and compiler/linker options.

Think of a makefile as a different way to define your project. Typically more fuss to get it working but more flexability. Usually, you can make it do exactly what you want.

I believe gl libraries are usually under <GL/gl.h> (etc) in nix like setups

As for OpenGL32.lib, that is (I think) windows specific, You'll probably find OpenGL as GL and GLU which symlink to the current version installed.

Or in short, you'll either need a crossplatform makefile, or a project/makefile per OS.

HTH

If you don't use any of the GLUT functions in your code, you don't have to use it. SDL provides all the necessary window handling functionality.