Sign in to follow this  

Im A Newb!!

This topic is 4838 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Get a good "Learn C++" book. Spend 3 years at uni learning how to really use Object Orientation, and the principles of robust software engineering. Spend every night until 4am drinking coffee sat in a dark room crashing your PC by poking memory your not supposed to, and then you will be enlightened...

Or you could start on some of the basic game development kits that are available.

First, you must learn how to wrestle the great beast known as...

*dramatic pause*

GOOGLE

*dramatic thunder & lightning effects*

In all seriousness, the first step in learning how to program games is learning how to program. Learning this is a long and tedious path, and considering your ambitions to start a career in it I'd suggest you instead try and get a social life, because I've found out (a bit late from firsthand experience) that social lives are more important than what you think you want your career to be.

This is all of course assuming you're bellow the age of oh... 19... I'd say 25 or 30 but I prefer to respect my elders, even when they're fools ;-).

Now, if you are ready to become a dork (face it, all game programmers have some dork in them), I suggest you weild the mighty google sword:

Programming Tutorials:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&q=programming+tutorial&btnG=Search

C++ (very common language, one I use) Programming Tutorials:
http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&ie=UTF-8&q=programming+tutorial&btnG=Search

C# (newer, different programming language) Programming Tutorials:

[Edited by - MaulingMonkey on September 18, 2004 7:21:41 PM]

It appears no one believes in <A HREF="url"> tags anymore... oh well.

skylineracr: