Sign in to follow this  

Need scripting advice for my project

This topic is 4823 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm currently working on a game called Hero of Allacrost and I'd like some outside opinions on our scripting methods. I've never done game scripting before, but I have written some small programs in Python and Perl. The game is a 2D RPG and is written in C++ and SDL. Currently, the plan is to use XML configuration files for data storage like character attributes, etc. Additionally we are thinking of using Lua for scripting events like when the game takes control of the character(s). What do you guys think about that? Oh, also we are making the game cross-platform (Linux, Windows, Mac) so we are trying to write the code as platform-independent as possible. Thank you.

Sounds good to me. That's how I do a lot of my scripting, with the XML/Script Language combination. You can even customise the Xml by specifying which function is called for a given event. For example, two characters may wish to have different AI scripts...

// XML
<character name="Gandalf" think="Gandalf_think" class="mage" />
<character name="Thor" think="Thor_think" class="warrior" />

// Script file
function Gandalf_think()
{
me.examineArea();
if ( me.mana > 100 )
{
me.castSpell( "somecoolspell" );
}
}

function Thor_think()
{
me.examineArea();
if ( me.health > 10 )
{
me.say("raaaa");
me.attackEverythingInSight();
}
}