Sign in to follow this  
gimbal_lock

Game Code Structure & Stitching It All Together

In designing my sprite class today I realized why I am a lousy programmer. If you give me any one basic concept, I can program it. Physics? You need to know what effect gravity would have on your game character after it jumps? I can program a simple function to calculate the change in Y position. That's easy. I can make a function that calculates the angle at which a ball bounces off of a surface. No problem! Graphics? I can blit a sprite, I can draw a triangle. Collision detection? I can tell if objects on the screen are overlapping. The problem I get is when I have to stitch it all together in a game! I had originally intended to design a sprite class that did everything. A sprite object would know what it was, where it was going, what AI state it was in, what frame of animation it was in, how fast it was moving, how fast it was accelerating, and whether it was colliding with any objects. I would then have a singly-linked list that the program would traverse several times with each frame so that it could decide what changes to make in all of these values and then what to draw! But if you remember by thread on this topic, you'll remember that most people found I was going at this the wrong way. A sprite object should know what to draw and that's it. Any movement data should be stored somewhere else - perhaps a game object (WTF) or some sort of sprite manager. This is something I had not previously thought of, and is a totally new concept to me. And to tell you the truth it still confuses me. I can see how having this sprite data spread across different classes, and therefore different objects, makes the code more flexable and reusable, but it certainly seems to complicate things! I spend so much time worrying about details like physics and AI and collision detection -- of which there is a WEALTH of information online -- I have never given any thought about how to stitch these con