Sign in to follow this  
Luke Miklos

splattering or transition tiles

Hey guys, need your input/feedback I'm making early design decisions for a simple [really simple] RTS game. I want to get small things working first, with a modular design in place... & then expand on it with more eye-candy, new levels, various AIs, & models. I'm trying to decide on the type of terrain for this game. I still have this option seeing as the only code I have written is the gui stuff, & the gameMode "engine" (or game-state & event handlers). Part of this project will be a level/terrain editor. So the user will be able to decide on the land-type for each square or tile. However... I refuse to force the user to go through tedious operations to produce maps that look good. Such as having to place transition tiles between land squares of different terrain types. I'm relatively new to terrain generation. I was thinking about using a simple heightmap, with some detail texturing [of course]. As far as the transitions between the tiles of different terrain types: What are the current methods or trends? The two I have read about are splattering & of course transition tiles. I read a small piece somewhere about vertex alpha blending, does that method differ from these two? I suppose I could use transitions tiles, if I procedurally stepped through the user generated map & inserted them into the right squares. But the only way I can think of doing this (while preserving the the number of tiles) is to give each terrain type a weight & if two types are on adjacent squares, the terrain type with a greater weight stays as it is... & the square with the lesser type is swapped for the transition tile between those two types. Does this make sense? I suppose it would come to a matter of preference: whether or not you would want a cleaner more defined looking terrain or if you would want a more natural fuzzy looking terrain (splattering). As far as the gameplay-view... this will of course be in 3D, with