Visual Basic?

Started by
13 comments, last by JMgamer88 23 years, 6 months ago
O.k. I''m 13 years old and i just started programming in August. I am learning C++. There''s a problem though, i don''t have a compiller. My Uncle is a programmer for a fairly large company and says i should start out on Visual Basic. I think C++ make perfect sense but he keeps telling me VB. He has everything i need. should I do it or stick w/ C++? HELP ME PLEASE!!!
Advertisement
Compilers for C++ are available for free, and if you feel comfortable learning C++, fine. It''s not the easiest, but it certainly isn''t impossible. Visual Basic is easier, but you have to buy it.

The most popular free C++ compiler is GCC, from GNU.org. However, it''s for Linux; you''ll want a Windows port. Cygwin is good: http://sources.redhat.com/cygwin/

However, you''ll have to learn a thing or two about the Linux command line before using it. But that''s what you get for the price of a free compiler, I suppose.

If you''re willing to spend money, you can get Microsoft''s compiler; you should start with console applications. Learn ANSI C++ before you decide whether or not you want to program only for Windows, or if you want to make your programs available to other Operating Systems as well. Believe me, this is a BIG choice, and will affect what you learn about C++ in the future. Programming only for Windows and programming for portability are almost like programming in seperate programming languages.

"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music he hears, however measured or far away" --Henry David Thoreau
"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music he hears, however measured or far away"--Henry David Thoreau
quote: