Sign in to follow this  
DD-

Are BSP based engine becoming archaic?

I've been a level designer for a few years, professionally only recently. The last three years were spent studying CSI. I never got into game programming but I understand a large amount of the programming side and theory because of my CSI background. Yet still I am unable to answer this concretely. It seems more and more BSP based level design/engines are becoming more and more useless, seeing Quake style engines rapidly disappearing. Obviously a mesh/model cached into video card memory will render much faster, but when an engine is entirely mesh the method of culling becomes questionable. I believe a heavy usage of mesh and a light mixture of BSP for culling, allowing for tons of detail in indoor areas with high frames, will never go instinct. However GPU's are becoming so fast that wasting that extra time rendering is becoming faster and faster it seems that it might even be faster then wasting CPU time deciding what to and what not to render. The answer I'm looking for is that BSP will never go away, not because I like level design with BSP, but because, and I say this at the end of my post, I am much more of a fan boy of the Quake engine and games such as half-life, and there is a growing rivalry with fans of the Unreal engine at our office. Arguments between my co-workers and I often lead to mindless debate and noob calling.

Great post, and I think that you are quite correct in your assumptions. GPUs are getting much faster at rendering mass amounts of polygons, causing many once popular algorithms to become useless on newer hardware.