Sign in to follow this  
NewbJ

[web] PHP and Mail

I'm rather new to web programming, and am creating my own site, so I'm trying to get a handle on PHP. As I already know C++, the syntax hasn't been terribly hard to learn. I have created an html/php feedback form, partially stolen from a tutorial, and it doesn't seem to work. No matter what I enter, it always returns "There was a problem sending the mail. Please check that you filled in the form correctly." Here's the code: feedback.html
<html>

<head>
<title>Your Comments</title>
<head>

<form action="mail.php" method="post">
Your Name: <input type="text" name="name"><br>
E-mail: <input type="text" name = "email"><br><br>
Comments<br>
<textarea name="comments" rows="10" cols="50">Thank you for visiting the site. We would appreciate it if you would leave some comments in this box to help us improve.</textarea>
<br><input type="submit" value="Submit">
</form>

</html>
mail.php
<?
$name=$_POST['name'];
$email=$_POST['email'];
$comments=$_POST['comments'];
$to="jacobdickinson@cox.net";
$message="$name just filled in your comments form. They said:\n$comments\n\nTheir e-mail address was: $email";
if(mail($to,"Comments From Your Site",$message,"From: $email\n")) {
echo "Thanks for your comments.";
} else {
echo "There was a problem sending the mail. Please check that you filled in the form correctly.";
}
?>
does anyone know what could be causing this?

Hmmm... the mail function has dependancies that need to be setup. This is straight from the php.net docs: