• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
ShadyFocker

Confused Programmer

This topic is 5477 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First I'd like to say hello. Here's my story, I have an extensive background in C/C++, as well as algorithm design. I have been working in programming for many years, but the heart of my passion for programming has always been that one day I would program games (just like many I'm sure). As of now I've finally found the time to sit down and begin this process, and am very excited. Now to the problem... I've reviewed some of DirectX through various tutorials and books, but have yet to find anything that really gets to the point. Many seem to show you how to draw a box and work with user input, but none seem to explain to you the meat of it. For example, its great that I can make a box and have it move down the screen, but how do I make another one =)? Also, how can you keep a scene's integrity and add a new box with it? These are horrible examples I'm sure, let me try it this way. If you had a tetris type game (since that seems to be the common example here...) I know how to make a box, I know how to make it flow down the screen, but how do I make it stay there for the next box. Which also leads into collision detection as well. Ok enough of my babbling, basically I was wondering if anyone knew of a good place to start for someone who is a veteran programmer and algorithm designer and needs a decent book/tutorial to get started (I've been through all of DrunkenHyena). Apologizes for the long post…

Advertisement
Tutorials are the devil.

Spend some time thinking about the structure of your game. Break it down into discrete steps, and then break those into steps as well until you virtually have source code. Rocket science, it isn't.