• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
andyb716

Picture Loading

This topic is 5411 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi I'm new to directx and I tried to load a gif with a transparent background and it doesn't show up transparent in directx. My question is, I've seen some tutorials on how to make a transparent pixel, so do I have to write my own loader to make it transparent. And also what type of picture format is good. Like tga or jpg? I want the size of it in memory to be small but I want to have good quality textures too? If anybody has any ideas about tutorials on making a loader or what kind of format is good would be appreciated thanks.

Advertisement
2 common errors.
  • Do you have alpha testing enabled?
  • Are you using a backbuffer format that supports alpha values? (not X)?

which version of DirectX ?
are you using DirectDraw or Direct3D ?

PNG and TGA are good formats that have an alpha channel
JPG is good but no alpha channel

I enabled alpha testing and my back buffer format is the format that comes from the D3DDISPLAYMODE struct so I guess its my default adapter format. Do i have to do something else in order to have the transparent pixels transparent?

The backbuffer format doesn't need alpha unless your blend requires D3DBLEND_DESTALPHA or D3DBLEND_INVDESTALPHA, which is very, very, unlikely.

Your texture format needs alpha though. I have no idea if the DirectX texture loading functions use the transparency information in a gif file. Try a tga or a png file with transparency to be sure it's not a problem with gif transparency.

Also, how did you enable alpha testing? For example, you'll want something like this:

D3DRS_ALPHATEST, true
D3DRS_ALPHAREF, 0x80
D3DRS_ALPHAFUNC, D3DCMP_GREATER

which says, I want to keep pixels with alpha > 128.