• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
alpha44

Why do they call 3DSMax and alike "level editor"?

This topic is 5465 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi I am a veteran in 3DSMax but newbie in game development. I had never heard before 3DSMax being referred to as "level editor". Is it true that 3DSMax, Maya, ... are called "level editor" in game industry? So what exactly does level mean here? Is that like a level of game or a level (floor) in a building or... And also is "map editor" sth like photoshop? Thanks in advance.

Advertisement
People tend to develop their own, custom editors.

You might have heard 3DSMax being called a level editor because someone was using it to model levels (which would be game levels). You can model a building in 3DSMax, hence you can use it as a level editor.

You can use something like Photoshop as a level editor, for some games, particularily terrain based ones - a grayscale image indicates the heights of hills, and a coloured one indicates the positions of objects.

I don't believe this is done in large game projects - most seem to develop custom tools to get the functionality they want. 3DSMax and photoshop tend to be used how you would expect, the former for modelling objects and people, the latter for creating and editing 2D graphics like logos and textures.

3dsmax and maya can be used to create 3d models in a game and they can also be used to build levels.

usually level editors or world builders are used because they have extra features specific to the game itself.

map editor could mean a level editor or ya photoshop could be called a [texture] map editor

Thank you guys.
Maybe I have not been able to articulate my question
accurately. (Typically i am not so pedantic but somehow
i have become obssesed with this phrase "level editor"!)