• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Adams555

Place object on top of mesh

This topic is 5468 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello. I'm kind of new to DirectX. If I had a mesh that was a landscape, would it be possible to figure out where to place an object (say, a character) so that it is always on top of the mesh? (Assuming the mesh has hills, etc.) I cant seem to find any information on how to do this. Any help would be appreciated, thanks.

Advertisement
Well, yes, but it's probably be better to use a heightmap (grid of vertices) as a landscape. That way you can access the heightmap to find the y-value by interpolating between the vertices that make up the quad the object is on.

For meshes, it might be a little more difficult because you don't have direct access to the vertex positions. But I'm sure it can be done, using vertex buffers and such.

But for landscapes, I highly recommend heightmaps. Very useful things [cool]

Try D3DXIntersect(). Though it is a heavy waste if your terrain mesh is large (consider cutting it up and using quadtrees).

Once you've placed the mesh, how do you KEEP it on the terrain? How do you avoid walking into things? How do you make sure the camera stays about 1.6 meters above the ground?

The answer is that you need a "collision detection system" (sometimes known as an interference detector). If you google for this, you'll find lots of hits -- I like the one that comes with the ODE physics library; you can use only the collision part if you want.