• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
oxygen728

Maya - Some simple terrain help please...

This topic is 5407 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, Thanks in advance for your time. I'm using Maya 6.0... and hope to export the scene as a Mesh (.X) file. (I already know how to do that.) I've been trying to create some simple terrain for this game. Here's what I would like to have: 1. (easy) Roughly 200-600 triangles in the end. 2. (harder) A color change with elevation. 3. (harder) A texture that is blended with the color. What do I know in maya? Well I've been experimenting with some tutorials dealing with HeightMaps (height fields), but they don't quite make sense to me. I think it has something to do with the fact that most of them are in Maya 4. I'm pretty good at manipulating polygons and such, but I'm not very good at all with Materials/Textures/etc... The most I can really do is apply a texture to polygonal objects. Closest I have come to decent terrain: 1. Created a 1x1 plane with 32x32 subdivisions 2. Created a HeightField through the Hypershade Window using a heightmap (32x32 pixel) image that I created in PaintShop Pro. Just can't figure out where to go from here... Tutorials just assume that I know more than I do at this point! Thanks again for the help.

Advertisement
1. Easy one, have you complete this one?

2. If you use a 3d texture called snow, It build on worldspace coordinates, and you supply it with one orig. color and one snow color, and then you have some paramters to tweak the interpolaton.. but If you wish to have greater control(always prefered )over the effect you should use a ramp texture, ( it pretty much speak for itself. )Or you can use both snow, and ramp at the same time.