• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
clearz

FPS shooter movement anomolies

This topic is 5470 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi I am new to direct3D and have been working on a very small small 3D engine. It is a FPS style(mouse looks arround) W,A,S,D controls movement and Spacebar to jump. I have got this working OK using a camera class that I put together.
void Camera::RotateX(float angle)
{
	if(up.y > 0 )
	{
		look = rotateAroundAxis(look, right, angle);
		CrossProduct(look, right, up); // Up
	}
	else
	{
		look = rotateAroundAxis(look, right, .01);
		CrossProduct(look, right, up); // Up
	}
}

void Camera::RotateY(float angle)
{
	float xxx, zzz;
	float sinAng, cosAng;

// Get sin()/cos() of angle
	sinAng = sinf(angle);
	cosAng = cosf(angle);

// Save off look components for computation
	xxx = look.x;
	zzz = look.z;

// Rotate look vector
	look.x = xxx * cosAng + zzz * sinAng;
	look.z = xxx * -sinAng + zzz * cosAng;

// Save off up components for computation
	xxx = up.x;
	zzz = up.z;

// Rotate up vector
	up.x = xxx * cosAng + zzz * sinAng;
	up.z = xxx * -sinAng + zzz * cosAng;

// Save off right components for computation
	xxx = right.x;
	zzz = right.z;

// Rotate right vector
	right.x = xxx * cosAng + zzz * sinAng;
	right.z = xxx * -sinAng + zzz * cosAng;
}

void Camera::Move(float amt)
{
	amt = amt * jumpMoveSpeed;
	pos += D3DXVECTOR3(look.x, 0, look.z ) * amt;
}

void Camera::Strafe(float amt)
{
	amt = amt * jumpMoveSpeed;
	pos += D3DXVECTOR3(right.x, 0, right.z ) * amt;
}

void Camera::Jump()
{
	if(jumping)
	{
		jumpMoveSpeed = 2;
		velY = velY - accel;
		pos += D3DXVECTOR3(0, up.y, 0) * velY;
		if(pos.y <= 0)
		{
			jumpMoveSpeed = 1;
			velY = 5.0f;
			accel = .015f;
			pos.y =	 0;
			jumping = false;
		}
	}
}