• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
CoffeeMug

Using smart pointers

This topic is 5473 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

How do you use smart pointers? Do you actually pass them around as function arguments like so:
void MyClass::f(smart_ptr<SomeClass> a);
Do you pass them as references?
void MyClass::f(smart_ptr<SomeClass> &a);
Or do you simply pass the class directly and use the smart pointer internally?
void MyClass::f(SomeClass *a);
{
    m_SomeClass = a;
}
class MyClass
{
    smart_ptr<SomeClass> m_SomeClass;
};
I've never used smart pointers before and getting accustomed to them is a little hard as I'm not always sure how to properly use them.

Advertisement
Smart pointers are supposed to maintain the semantics of pointers. In other words, use them just as you would a pointer. Choosing whether to pass them by reference (yes, passing a pointer by reference), etc is a function of the specifics of the use case.

Another words I would generally use the very first case I presented. Ok. But what is the benefit of that over the last case? There is an obvious drawback of making a bunch of copies, but what do I gain (compared to the third case)? Aside from some sort of a uniform syntax, I can't really see the benefit.

I realize that the performance hit of copying smart pointers is more often than not negligible, but I'm still wondering how people use them.

Your third case simply won't work if your smart pointers aren't intrusive, ie when the reference count isn't stored in the instance itself (boost::shared_ptr is an example of this). The instant you grab the pointer from this type of smart pointer and create another smart pointer to it, you now have 2 separate reference counts which is a Very Bad Thing(tm).