• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
nutz

Spoilt for choice

This topic is 5471 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hello everyone at gamedev. Before I start - I'd like tosay that this community rocks !!. Now my questions. I am new to game programming , but not new to programming in genral (doing that for the last 8 years, professionally for the last 2). I think I have a decent grasp of C, C++ and java. I read the faq and it helped a lot , but I still have 1 dielema. Which way should I go ?? 1) Study 3d graphic theory and concept first - then use a 3d API (OpenGl/Direct3d) - then move from there. 2) Use an open source game engine - Nebula / Ogre(for rendering only)/etc... 3) Write my own engine after I am done with (1) 4) none of the above. Just to mention that I am not trying to make a doom3/quake3/WorldofWarcraft clone. I just wanna get started... on anything that'll help me learn and understand game development. thanks

Advertisement
Well, I'd really suggest you try doing some software rendering first - polygon rendering, then add shading, maybe look at raycasting and the like - these all teach the basics of 3D, and it's quite good fun to knock out!
It certainly gives you a good insight as to how the 3D worlds fit together, and I guess it'll help when moving on to a 3D API that does it all for you - all the tricks you learnt to crunch out fast 3D worlds in software can still be used to get an efficient engine out, as the fact that it's all hardware accelerated could make you lazy.
Best of luck!