[.net] Reading text files faster?

Started by
6 comments, last by Nytegard 19 years, 6 months ago
Alright, I admit I'm a novice to C#. I have a 650 MB text file that I need parsed into a specific file structure in memory, but that's not important right now. Here's the code right now, minus all the error checking I have to do, to keep this short.

StreamReader objReader =  new StreamReader(strFileName);
string strLine = "";
string strHeader;
string strDefinition;
int nIndexofSplit;

while(null != (strLine = objReader.ReadLine() )
{
  //nIndexofSplit = strLine.IndexOf(".");
  //strHeader = strLine.Substring(0, nIndexofSplit);
  //strDefinition = strLine.Substring(nIndexofSplit + 1, strLine.Length - (nIndexofSplit + 1) );
}

This takes roughly 20 seconds. Now if I uncomment out the commented lines, it takes 1 minute to process. This isn't even including all the processing of the line that needs to be done later. As a simple test, I rewrote this in C (error checking included, and the lines uncommented), and it takes 13 seconds instead of 1 minute. What's a quicker way to read the file in and parse the string so it can average ~15 seconds, 20 seconds worst case scenario?
Advertisement
Well, first off, a bit problem you have is your use of strings. Each time you reassign a string, it has to create a whole new string object (strings are imutable). Instead you should be using a string builder.

Secondly, don't read in a line at a time. Read in a chunk of lines. Reads are more efficient with more data, upto a point of course.

In time the project grows, the ignorance of its devs it shows, with many a convoluted function, it plunges into deep compunction, the price of failure is high, Washu's mirth is nigh.

As Washu said, use StringBuilder instead of String. Also, read your file in chunks of several MBs.