2d Pixel Sprites - Side Views

Started by
10 comments, last by JTippetts 19 years, 6 months ago
I am working on sprites for a 2d game and have a front view of a sprite and would like help with creating a good side-view image. Any Suggestions or resources???? Keep it SyKo, DaRk_oDiN
Advertisement
I always drew my characters in a 3d modeling tool, and then rendered them at the needed degrees.
The guy's working with me on a school project. Excuse him, he's a little slow.

Prod, that wouldn't really work, because this is 2D flat, not isometric, and the sprites are a little small for 3D modeling to work.

Anyway, what he's asking is this. I made a front-view sprite a while ago, but I'm not very good at animating or doing different directions. He volunteered (well, I assigned him) to make the side views and the walking animations. He doesn't know how to create a side view from a front view. And I don't, either.

When my website starts cooperating I'll post the picture on it to demonstrate.
http://edropple.com
Quote:Original post by Edward Ropple
The guy's working with me on a school project. Excuse him, he's a little slow.

Prod, that wouldn't really work, because this is 2D flat, not isometric, and the sprites are a little small for 3D modeling to work.

Unless you are artistically skilled, it's probably your best bet. My observation (personal experience) is that it is far easier to create nice-looking sprites through 3D modelling than it is to try to draw them, frame by frame, by hand. Observe:

This ugly fellow is rendered from a 3D model.

Quote:
Anyway, what he's asking is this. I made a front-view sprite a while ago, but I'm not very good at animating or doing different directions. He volunteered (well, I assigned him) to make the side views and the walking animations. He doesn't know how to create a side view from a front view. And I don't, either.

When my website starts cooperating I'll post the picture on it to demonstrate.