• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
David_SO

OpenGL Direct3D Texture Coordinates

This topic is 5439 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am a hobbyist programmer and I have been studying Direct3D and OpenGL at the same time for about 2 months. I am now able to successfully load a rotating textured cube from vertex arrays on both APIs (thanks to the excellent Codesampler, Drunken Hyena and Nehe tutorials). I have gathered the following relevant differences between the two APIs. OpenGL uses a right handed coordinate system while Direct3D defaults to the left. OpenGL places the (0,0) UV texture coordinates from the bottom left while Direct3D places them at the top left. So here is my problem. I want a single/common vertex array to provide information for my 3D object (i.e., a rotating textured cube) for both APIs. I have decided to use the OpenGL defaults because there are far more OpenGL tutorials out there in the internet than Direct3D. However, to be able to do this I need to convert the Direct3D coordinate systems to match OpenGL. I know that I can tell Direct3D to use a right handed coordinate system BUT I have not seen anything in the DirectX SDK docs on how to modify the texture coordinate systems so that the texture is read from the bottom left just like OpenGL. I suspect (someone please correct me if I am wrong) that this is the reason why it is a bit more difficult to write a Direct3D MD2 loader as MD2 files have been written natively for OpenGL. Alternatively, has anyone ever attempted to write an algorithm in C++ to flip the texture in software so that even if Direct3D reads it from the top, the textures would still be properly mapped to the mesh? Can anyone help please? And sorry for the long post...

Advertisement