• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Just_starting

Brand new

This topic is 5460 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

First and foremost I would like to say hello. This is my first post. I am a C++ student at Southern Illinois Univrsity (EDWSV). I have been programming for 4 weeks now and this is my first taste of any langauge. With that said I think this is a GREAT site and plan on being an active member. As a C++ student my first assingment due last friday was a Video Craps game. I have not received a grade yet but I was confident submitting it. Here is the code (Any and all feedback will be taken as constructive so please be as brutal as needed) On a side note if I wanted to add a sound effect instead of the laim ding "\a" any advice would be appreciated
// CS140 section: 003 
// File: P1.cpp
#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib> 
#include <ctime>
using namespace std;

void main()
{
	int value1,
		value2,
		sum1,
		pointvalue;
	char yorn;
	cout << "      Welcome to hours of nonstop fun for the whole family!\n\n";
	cout << "                  SUPER-FANTASTIC CRAPS\n\n"; 
	do 
	{
		srand((unsigned)time(NULL));
		cout << " The game is about to begin, pressing any key will roll the dice.\n\n";
		system ("pause");
		value1 = (rand() % 6 + 1);
		value2 = (rand() % 6 + 1);
		sum1 = value1 + value2;
		cout << "\nYou Roll a:  " << sum1 << endl;
		if ((sum1 == 7) || (sum1 == 11))
			cout << "\nHey Hey it is Your Lucky Day You Win\a\n";
		else if ((sum1 <= 3) || (sum1 == 12))
			cout << "\nYou Lose\n";
		else if (((sum1 >= 4) && (sum1 <= 6)) || ((sum1 >= 8) && (sum1 <= 10)))
		{
			pointvalue = value1 + value2;
			cout << "\nRoll Again\n\n";
			system ("pause");
			sum1 = value1 + value2;
			while ((sum1 != pointvalue) && (sum1 != 7))
			{
				sum1 = value1 + value2;
				cout << "\nYou Roll a: " << sum1 << endl << endl;