What's wrong with the sample framework?

Started by
7 comments, last by GameDev.net 19 years, 6 months ago
I've been using the DirectX 9 sample framework. I have heard a lot of people say that it's ok for demos and experimentation, but not to use it for a real game because it's slow. At some point I would like to get away from using it and write my own, so my question is... What makes the sample framework too slow? When I design my own I will probably use the sample framework as a guide, but I want to make sure that I'm not copying the parts that make it slow. I have VC++ 6.0. I haven't tried the new SDK (2004 summer update) since 6.0 is not officially supported. I'm just a hobbyist and I can't justify spending the money on VC++ .net right now.
Atari 2600 Homebrew Author - Someone who is smart enough to learn 6502 assembly language but dumb enough to actually want to use it.
Advertisement
I am using a codebase based off the dx9b app wiz generated code.. which is basicaly just the framework..

Works pretty good really.

Consider using it and when you find out what (if anything) is to slow about then you have the answer to your second question.
Quote:Original post by Chadivision
I have heard a lot of people say that it's ok for demos and experimentation, but not to use it for a real game because it's slow.

Their base code isn't bad because it's slow, it's bad because it's not very extensible. If you decide to develop your own 3D engine you don't want global variables hanging around, etc. It's ok for demos but if your project will involve more than ten thousand lines of code, you'd be better off doing your own design.
Quote:Original post by Chadivision
At some point I would like to get away from using it and write my own, so my question is...

What makes the sample framework too slow?