Sign in to follow this  

Database

This topic is 4803 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm not sure if this is the right place to ask this, but here goes anyway. I checked the FAQ first and couldn't find an answer and checked this forum too. I'm fairly new to C++, and I'm used to doing things with Databases in Delphi and VB6. Does anyone know of a fairly easily useable class/library for accessing MySQL and MSSQL databases and being able to iterate through a Dataset. In Delphi I had ADOConnections, ADOQuerys and ADODatasource's. I'd simply specify the database type and login credentials to the connection and initiate it. I'd link the Datasource to the Query and Query to the Connection. Then when I ran a select * from scheme.slcustm the datasource would be filled. I'd then do something like
ADOConnection.Connect;
ADOQuery.Connection := ADOConnection;
ADOQuery.Close;
ADOQuery.SQL.Text := "select * from scheme.slcustm";
ADOQuery.Open;

while not ADODatasource_Cust.Dataset.EOF do
begin
  ShowMessage(ADODatasource_Cust.Dataset.FieldByName('accountid').AsString);
  ADODatasource_Cust.Dataset.Next;
end

That's just a simple showing a message to the user for each result. Thanks kindly in advance

Sadly I don't have much experience with MySql and I'm using a proprietary DBLib object when I need to access my SQLServer for our tools. But, if I remember well, MySQL comes with a C++ example (although I can't remember the exact name at this time) using a connectivity class they give with the database.

You can also check CodeProject. They have examples (with source code) for connecting to databases.

Gizz