Sign in to follow this  

Please have a look at my UML diagram (pic incl.)

This topic is 4815 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I've recently made a little snake game, but i didn't spend much time on the design of the classes. So this time I want to make Snake again, but then with nice classes and all... I've made a diagram in Microsoft Visio, please have a look at it and tell me what i can improve... By the way, I'm really new to UML, so i probably made some huge mistakes :-) Here's the diagram: And here is the diagram in visio format: Clicky What i've basicly done is seperating game logic from engine logic. Please note that the diagram isn't finished yet, but i want to know if I'm on the right track.

Yeah, the diagram looks good.

It's a neat tool (or so I've been told) for large scale software design on long lasting projects with multiple programmers.
However I suspect that UML will get in your way for such a small project.
What I'm trying to say is that, despite of what they might try to teach you in school, designing everything in UML is not a sign of being a "pro" developer but rather the other way around.

There's no shame in hacking ;)

Whether on paper or in some program (like Visio), drawing diagrams of your programs can help you keep things organized. I've been working on a project that has about 5 different "sections" right now and it's much easier to just look at a diagram to see how things interact and how you can improve the design.

Even for small projects it can be important. That diagram may be a bit complex but as long as it helps you understand the program flow and how different parts of your project interact then it's a good thing™.