Sign in to follow this  

Direct3D optimization

This topic is 4813 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Thanks for taking the time to read my question. While not very interesting, the question is one I've found a complete lack of documentation on. I'm rather new to Direct3D and so I've recently read a few books and have read every article I could get my hands on lately. After researching all I could, I'm still stuck one my issue. I'm trying to make a “tiled” floor in a 3D world using small tiles (32px squares). Currently what I'm doing to achieve this is to create one vertex buffer defining a square… and then I do world transforms each time I want to place a new tile. I set the texture for these squares and also setup the project and LookAt so I'm looking at the world how I'd like. My question is more of optimization. The "2D" flooring I'm drawing is rather large so it brings up a few issues. The first issue is how the heck do I know what to draw? I mean I'm not looking directly down at my squares so that means toward the top of the screen get smaller. To just try an clarify the problem, the cameras at such an angle so that tile squares toward the top become of a smaller size than those in the middle or bottom. How would I know what tiles I should actually be trying to draw? Another issue that I am running into right now is the method I'm using to draw. It seems like there would have to be a better way to draw a tiled floor than to do a world transform every time I need to draw a tile. I'm using well over 200 tiles incase that bit of information might be helpful to you. Any suggestions, redirections, or flames are welcome. Keith

First of all; do you need to do it in 3D? Are you changing camera views etc? Do you need matrices?