• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
gp343

OpenGL Rotating around a Scene problem

This topic is 5391 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there i'm a newbie to graphics programming with opengl. Basically my problem is that i want to setup an camera such that i'm constantly rotating around my scene and all the objects within the scene. That is i'm doing a complete 360 degrees rotation on the y-axis. Below is my current code that draws the scene and all the objects within: Where will i put the gluLookAt function within this code and what are the possible values? So far i know how to do the up vector for gluLookAt but nothing more than than. Please help. void Display(void) { // Clear the window with current clearing color glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT); DrawGround(); glPushMatrix(); glLoadIdentity(); glTranslatef(0.0f, 0.0f, zDistance); glBegin(GL_LINES); glColor3f(1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f); glVertex3f(-nRight, 0.0f, zDistance); glVertex3f(nRight, 0.0f, zDistance); glVertex3f(0.0f, -nBottom, zDistance); glVertex3f(0.0f, nBottom, zDistance); glEnd(); DrawVerticalTicks(); DrawHorizontalTicks(); glLoadIdentity(); glTranslatef(-1.0f, 0.0f, -6.0f); glRotatef(xRot, 0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f); DrawHouse(); glLoadIdentity(); glTranslatef(2.0f, 0.0f, -6.0f); glRotatef(-xRot, 0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f); DrawHouse(); glLoadIdentity(); glTranslatef(2.0f, 1.0f, -10.0f); glRotatef(xRot, 0.0f, 1.0f, 0.0f); CreatePyramid(0.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f); glLoadIdentity(); glColor3f(1.0f, 1.0f, 1.0f); glTranslatef(0.0f, 0.0f, -15.0f); glRotatef(xRot, 1.0f, 0.0f, 0.0f); glutSolidCube(1.0f); xRot += 0.2f; yRot += 0.2f; zRot += 0.2f; glPopMatrix(); glutSwapBuffers(); }

Advertisement
void gluLookAt(
GLdouble eyex,
GLdouble eyey,
GLdouble eyez,
GLdouble centerx,
GLdouble centery,
GLdouble centerz,
GLdouble upx,
GLdouble upy,
GLdouble upz
);