• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
moorphene

Begining J2ME Developer

This topic is 5451 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am somewhat new to Java but I have a strong C++ background. I have an interest in developing for mobile devices. From what I've gathered so far, this means that I need to know J2ME or Brew. From the research I've done I decided to go the way of J2ME. Currently I am reading "J2ME GameProgramming" by Martin Wells. Anyone have any idea of how long it will take to be somewhat efficient in developing for this platform? Also if anyone can give some pros/cons of J2ME vs. Brew. Thanks alot in advance!

Advertisement
J2ME really will be easier from a Java background than a C++ one.

That said, it is probably still a much saner choice for people who do not have several thousand dollars in startup operating capital. (I'm also told that Brew is an ugly not-quite-C++-or-C-either-for-that-matter hack of a development platform, but I don't know enough about it to comment with any authority.)

Well, I enjoy writing BREW more than J2ME. J2ME is actually an ugly, not-quite-Java environment itself. One example: the Java way of doing things is to create lots of new classes for everything. Anywhere in C++ that you would use a struct, you make a new class in Java. But the problem is, every time you make a new J2ME class, your midlet inexplicably increases by about 500 bytes in size, even if the class is totally empty. A lot of phones have a max midlet size of 60k, so it means you *can't* make new classes left and right, so you have to find alternatives.