• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Lantz

[web] apache+php+paths

This topic is 5456 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Is there a way to make the paths I use in php code (to read and write files for example) to correspond to the webpage's paths? For example if I do fopen( "/shite/test.dat", "rb" ) I want it to open /shite/test.dat relative to the root of the webpage, not the root of the server like it does as I have it now. Im kinda new to php and apache and have probably just not configured it properly. I have managed to get the includes working by setting the include_path or whatever its called in php.ini, but I dont like this solution. Any suggestions or good links on the subject? Lantz

Advertisement
There is a function for this in ASP, called MapPath. It maps a URL to the corresponding filesystem item.

So, basically, what you want is something like this:

function MapPath ($URL) {
if (strpos($URL,BASEURL) === FALSE) {
if (strpos($URL,"/") === 0) {
return (BASEDIR . $URL);
} else {
$dir = dirname($_SERVER['PHP_SELF']);
if ($dir != "/") $dir .= "/";
return (BASEDIR . $dir . $URL);
}
} else {
return (BASEDIR . substr($URL,strlen(BASEURL)));
}
}

BASEURL and BASEDIR should contain the base URL "http://www.site.net/dir" and "/home/name/public_html/dir". The parameter passed can be a relative or absolute URL (always inside your site, of course).

Anyway, that's only my solution. I've searched for such a funcion before and was very disappointed that PHP doesn't provide a quick and clean solution to this.

Please let me know if you find a better solution.

Hope it helps.

The path to the root of your website is stored in the variable $_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'].

This means you can use

<?
fopen($_SERVER['DOCUMENT_ROOT'].'/shite/test.dat');
?>

to open the file from your example.