• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
mayonaise

help getting started, bitmap animation

This topic is 5450 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a total beginner to DirectX programming, AND windows programming in general, so bear with me. I just graduated from college, where I didn't write a single line of windows code (MFC, stuff like that). The stuff's pretty confusing... All i'm trying to do is write a simple directx program that will display two bitmaps - background and foreground. The foreground moves accross the screen while the background is stationary. I've found some decent examples and gotten it to work in concept, but I'm not sure of if i'm doing it right. In particular, I used this example - I added another bitmap and made it scroll instead of animate like a sprite (easy enough): http://www.codeproject.com/directx/basicdd.asp?df=100&forumid=4011&exp=0&select=595354 The software is being written to test some graphics hardware a friend of mine is working on. The program needs to test whether or not the hardware is accurately refreshing at 60 frames per second. So first of all I need to lock the framerate at 60 FPS. Second, I'm not sure if the way this sample program is coded will work for this setup. I think I'm creating two surfaces, one for each bitmap, and re-drawing them every time the foreground moves. Can anyone help me figure this out? I did a search and found some code to lock the framerate, but how do I know it's doing what I want it to? I can post the entire project (visual studio .NET 2003 project) zipped up if you would like. thanks!

Advertisement